Close print-friendly
Bookmark and Share
2012 TBDA nominations

Dimity Azoury, Calvin Hannaford, Amy Harris,
Jake Mangakahia, Jarryd Madden, Ako Kondo.
Photo Ray Messner

Six talented young dancers are in the running to take home Australian ballet’s highest honour after the Artistic Director of The Australian Ballet David McAllister announced the 2012 Telstra Ballet Award (TBDA) nominations on Thursday 2 February 2012.

The 2012 Telstra Ballet Dancer Award nominees are Dimity Azoury, Calvin Hannaford, Amy Harris, Ako Kondo, Jarryd Madden, and Jake Mangakahia.

The winner, announced toward the end of 2012, will be decided by an industry panel – comprised of representatives from The Australian Ballet, Telstra and the media – and will receive a $20,000 cash prize from Telstra. The People’s Choice Award has a $5,000 prize and is decided by public vote.

Last year Chengwu Guo created history by being the first male dancer to win both the Telstra Ballet Dancer Award and the Telstra People’s Choice Award.

Telstra Group Managing Director, Applications and Ventures, Deena Shiff, said the Award was an important part of rewarding and recognising talent within the ranks of the company.

“The announcement of the Telstra Ballet Dancer Award nominees is always an exciting occasion. The fact that we’re celebrating 50 years of The Australian Ballet this year makes it even more special.”

Audiences can see the 2012 TBDA nominees perform in Infinity, which opens in Melbourne on 24 February before travelling to Sydney on 5 April. Ballet fans in Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth can catch the dancers during the upcoming seasons of Graeme Murphy’s Romeo & Juliet.

To vote for your favourite dancer, SMS their first name to 0439 BALLET (0439 225 538) or go to enter online and see full terms and conditions.

The Australian Ballet congratulates all of this year’s nominees and wishes them all the best on their quest for TBDA glory.



Single tickets for this event are booked through an external ticketing agent. The agent's site will now open in this window.